Compliance

The Company maintains high standards of business ethics, transparency and legality that are independent of business customs and other business conditions in a particular jurisdiction.

The primary target of compliance direction is to carry out activities on identifying, evaluating, preventing and monitoring compliance risks arising in the course of business of “Samruk-Energy” JSC, creating zero tolerance for corruption and bribery, building an anticorruption culture and preventing compliance risks.

The Service aims at creating a compliance system at the Company that meets international standards and best practices in this field. Particular attention is paid to meeting the requirements of the Republic of Kazakhstan law “On fight against corruption”, recommendations of international organizations and international studies of the compliance function.

As part of the development of a compliance system, the Company strives to maintain a high level of efficiency of its work, to be business-oriented and proactive in risk management, taking into account the large-scale strategic goals of the Company.

The Republic of Kazakhstan law “On fight against corruption” is the main regulatory document, documents that regulate anticorruption requirements within the Company are the Code of Business Conduct, Compliance Risk Management Policy, the Anti-Fraud and Corruption Policy, Corporate Conflicts and Conflict of Interest Resolution Policy, Initiative Information Sharing Policy.

The Company in these documents publicly declares zero tolerance for corruption in any form and occurrence both in everyday life and during implementation of strategic projects. Moreover, the procedures for ensuring the implementation of anti-corruption legislation are set out in the regulations of the Company’s business processes.

Adhering to recommendations of the regulatory authorities and exploring the best international practices in the development of corporate anti-corruption compliance programs, the Company has created its approach based on the following principles:

✔ Аctive involvement and support by management in the development of a compliance system. The Company’s Board of Directors of the Company regularly reviews reports on the implementation of the compliance program.

✔ The Company regularly conducts activities aimed at identifying and further updating of corruption risks. The Company develops and implements anti-corruption procedures that meet the level and nature of the identified risks, improves and updates internal policies and procedures.

✔ The Company implements and supports a training program for employees on principles and standards of compliance with anti-corruption legislation.

✔ The Company monitors the effectiveness of the implemented procedures to prevent corruption.

✔ To reduce the risk of the Company’s involvement in corruption activities, the Company developed Due Diligence procedures for both counterparties and individuals.

✔ Corruption risks in business processes are regularly evaluated at the Company.

✔ A single “hot line” operates at the Company, which is serviced by an independent company Deloitte.

In 2019, the Company implemented the following projects and initiatives as part of the development of the compliance program and strengthening the compliance culture:

✔ Corruption risks in the processes were evaluated across “Samruk-Energy” JSC group of companies.

✔ Risk assessment was conducted in 2019 at all key subsidiaries and affiliates (coverage of 76 %) and 100 % of divisions of “Samruk-Energy” JSC.

The results of analysis of corruption risks across “Samruk-Energy” JSC group of companies state that the below listed are most exposed to corruption risks:

In line with requirements of the Compliance Risk Management Policy of the Company – a zero tolerance level is set for any corruption scheme and in each case it is necessary to take actions to mitigate consequences and eliminate the causes of compliance risk

Development of Action Plan for mitigating established compliance risks by responsible structural units of the Company and SA

✔ The Board of Directors of the Company approved the Action Plan for mitigating corruption risks based on the results of the assessment; its execution is monitored on an ongoing basis.

✔ Activities on training of “Samruk-Energy” JSC and subsidiaries and affiliates’ employees were carried out in order to create an anti-corruption culture among employees in the field of anti-corruption compliance. In particular, all newly hired employees completed adaptation trainings on anti-corruption compliance issues, and employees of the Head Office and SA attended trainings in person (according to the training plan).

✔ Training was conducted for PR employees of subsidiaries and affiliates of the Company on the topic: “Compliance ideology in the life of the company and its employees”

✔ Corporate media has been actively covering compliance issues. News, articles, event announcements, training video clips, information about possible risks and corruption scandals (in world and in the country), as well as the need to report violations of the law and internal regulations to the “hot line” were posted on the internal corporate portal during the year.

✔ Anticorruption provisions stipulating obligations of suppliers to comply with the laws of the Republic of Kazakhstan on anti-corruption issues, as well as obligations on inform the customer of any alleged and actual violations of anti-corruption laws and procurement rules through the hotline were included in standard agreements across “Samruk-Energy” JSC group.

✔ The Rules for competitive selection for vacant positions of “Samruk-Energy JSC” were amended in part of verification of candidates for affiliation with officials of “Samruk-Energy” JSC group of companies.

✔ In order to implement the project “Diagnostics and development of corporate culture”, corporate values of the Company were developed. The Board of Directors approved amendments to the Code of Business Conduct.

✔ In order to create an anti-corruption culture and promote zero tolerance for any form of bribery and corruption, the Compliance Service of the Company, together with the Anti-Corruption Agency of the Republic of Kazakhstan, organized a training on “Combating corruption at quasipublic sector entities” for employees of the Head Office and SA at the head office.

Addressing conflicts of interest

In order to create an effective system for managing conflicts of interest, as well as determining requirements for the behavior of employees, compliance with which allows reducing risks of decision-making under the influence of personal interests and relationships at the Company, a number of measures are being taken.

In 2018, the Company’s Board of Directors approved the new version of the Policy for the Settlement of Corporate Conflicts and Conflicts of Interest of “Samruk-Energy” JSC. Employees who hold executive positions are required to set an example of law-abiding and ethical behavior and actively support the implementation of the Policy. At employment, all employees learn about this document, fill out and sign Personnel department form. In 2019, the Board of Directors introduced changes to the Policy and supplemented the procedure for declaring a conflict of interest. Employees including department heads and those who are on higher positions annually fill out a Conflict of Interest form. Preliminarily, in order to eliminate corruption risks and conflicts of interest during the recruitment process, candidates for vacant positions at the Company and senior positions at subsidiaries and affiliates (according to the list of positions) are checked for affiliation with officials of “Samruk-Kazyna” JSC group of companies.

The Compliance Service regularly monitors situations for conflicts of interest; 1 potential conflict of interest was settled in 2019.

Fight against corruption

In 2019, 100 % of “Samruk-Energy” JSC employees learned about the Anti-Fraud and Corruption Policy. The results of testing the knowledge of the Policy demonstrated 100 % coverage of employees’ knowledge in this area.

Number of employees broken down by region and category of employees who have been informed and completed training on anti-corruption politics and methods

The Company employees are checked for knowledge of requirements of anti-corruption law and internal documents every year. In 2019, the Company’s Compliance Service conducted 6 internal investigations and 10 compliance checks on appeals received through the “hot line” and violations of requirements of internal regulatory documents and legislation at subsidiaries and affiliates. Following the inspections and investigations, activities on mitigating risks were carried out at subsidiaries and affiliates, as well as disciplinary actions were taken against executives and responsible officers. According to the 2019 results, 1 case of a corruption offense in the actions of the head of a subsidiary was reported across the group of companies, the results of an internal investigation were sent to the authorized body.

To eliminate corruption risks and for the purpose of transparency of the process and compliance with the principles of meritocracy, the Compliance Service is actively involved in the work of competitive commissions held by the Company and in the approval of senior employees of subsidiaries and affiliates. The Compliance Service monitored changes in the anticorruption legislation on a regular basis in order to respond in a timely manner and to comply with requirements. In order to prevent corruption, the Company prepared the Action Plan for fighting corruption at “Samruk-Energy” JSC. According to the 2019 results, all planned activities were completed within the established deadlines and in full.

Комплаенс

Компания придерживается высоких стандартов бизнес-этики, прозрачности и законности, независимого от деловых обычаев и других условий ведения бизнеса в той или иной юрисдикции.

Основная задача направления комплаенс заключается в проведении мероприятий по выявлению, оценке, предотвращению и контролю возникающих в деятельности АО «Самрук-Энерго» комплаенс-рисков, формирование нулевой терпимости к проявлениям коррупции и взяточниче- ства, построение антикоррупционной культуры и предупреждение комплаенс-рисков Работа Службы нацелена на создание в Компании комплаенс-системы, соответствующей международным стандартам и лучшим практикам в данной области.

Особое внимание уделяется соблюдению требований Закона Республики Казахстан «О противодействии коррупции», рекомендациям международных организаций и международным исследованиям функции комплаенс.

В рамках развития комплаенс-системы Компания стремится поддерживать высокий уровень эффективности своей работы, быть бизнес-ориентированными и проактивными в управлении рисками, с учетом масштабных стратегических целей Компании.

Основным нормативным документом является Закон Республики Казахстан «О противодействии коррупции», документами, регулирующими антикоррупционные требования внутри Компании, являются – Кодекс поведения, Политика управления комплаенс-риском, Политика противодействия мошенничеству и коррупции, Политика по урегулированию корпоративных конфликтов и конфликта интересов, Политика инициативного информирования.

В этих документах Компания публично заявляет о неприятии коррупции в любых формах и проявлениях как в повседневной жизни, так и при реализации стратегических проектов. Кроме того, процедуры по обеспечению выполнения антикоррупционного законодательства закреплены в регламентах бизнес-процессов Компании.

Соблюдая рекомендации регуляторных органов и исследуя лучшие международные практики в области развития корпоративных программ антикоррупционного комплаенс, Компания сформировала свой подход, основанный на следующих принципах:

✔ Активная вовлеченность и поддержка со стороны руководства в развитии комплаенс-системы. Советом директоров Компании на периодической основе рассматриваются отчеты о реализации комплаенс-программы.

✔ Компания регулярно проводит мероприятия по выявлению и последующей актуализации коррупционных рисков. Компания разрабатывает и внедряет процедуры по противодействию коррупции, отвечающие уровню и характеру выявленных рисков, совершенствует и актуализирует внутренние политики и процедуры.

✔ Компания реализует и поддерживает программу обучения работников принципам и стандартам соответствия антикоррупционному законодательству.

✔ Компания осуществляет мониторинг эффективности внедренных процедур по предотвращению коррупции.

✔ В целях минимизации риска вовлечения Компании в коррупционную деятельность, в Компании разработаны процедуры проверки на благонадежность (Due diligence) как в отношении контрагентов, так и в отношении физических лиц.

✔ В Компании проводится периодическая оценка коррупционных рисков в бизнес-процессах.

✔ В Компании функционирует единая «горячая линия», которая обслуживается независимой компанией Делойт.

В 2019 году Компания реализовала следующие проекты и инициативы в рамках развития программы комплаенс и укрепления комплаенс- культуры:

✔ Проведена оценка коррупционных рисков в процессах по группе компаний АО «Самрук-Энерго»

✔ В 2019 году оценка рисков проводилась в основных дочерних и зависимых организациях (охват 76 %) и 100 % подразделений АО «Самрук-Энерго».

По итогам анализа коррупционных рисков в Обществе и ДЗО установлены следующие процессы наиболее подверженные рискам коррупции:

Согласно требованиям Политики управ- ления комплаенс-рисками Общества – для любой коррупционной схемы установлен нулевой уровень терпимости и в каждом случае необходимо принять меры по минимизации последствий и исключению причин возникновения комплаенс-риска.

Разработка ответственными подразделениями Общества и ДЗО Плана меро- приятий по минимизации установленных комплаенс-рисков.

✔ Советом Директоров Компании утвержден План мероприятий по минимизации рисков коррупции по итогам проведенной оценки, осуществляется постоянный мониторинг его исполнения.

✔ Проведены мероприятия по обучению работников АО «Самрук-Энерго» и дочерних и зависимых орга- низаций в целях формирования антикоррупционной культуры у работников в области антикоррупционного комплаенс. В частности – адаптационные тренинги по тематике антикоррупционного комплаенс прошли все вновь принимаемые работники, в очной форме прошли обучение все работники Корпоративного центра и дочерних и зависимых организаций (согласно плану обучения).

✔ Проведено обучение для работников PR дочерних и зависимых компаний Компании на тему: «Комплаенс идеология в жизнедеятельности компании и её сотрудников»

✔ В корпоративных СМИ активно освещалась тематика комплаенс. В течение года на внутреннем корпоративном портале были опубликованы новости, статьи, анонсы мероприятий, размещены обучающие видеоролики, информация о возможных рисках и коррупционных скандалах (в мире и стране), также необходимость сообщать о фактах нарушений законодательства и ВНД на «горячую линию»

✔ В типовые договоры по всей группе компаний АО «Самрук-Энерго» включены антикоррупционные оговорки – предусматривающие обязательства поставщиков соблюдать законодательство Республики Казахстан по вопросам противодействия коррупции, а также информировать заказчика о любых предполагаемых и фактических нарушениях антикоррупционного законодательства и правил закупок посредством горячей линии.

✔ Внесены изменения в Правила конкурсного отбора на вакантные позиции АО «Самрук-Энерго» в части проверки кандидатов на аффилированность с должностными лицами группы компаний «Самрук-Энерго»

✔ В целях реализации проекта «Диагностика и развитие корпоративной культуры» разработаны корпоративные ценности Компании. Советом директоров утверждены изменения в Кодекс поведения.

✔ В целях формирования антикоррупционной культуры и нулевой терпимости к любым формам проявления взяточничества и коррупции Службой «Комплаенс» Компании совместно с Агентством РК по противодействию коррупции на базе Корпоративного центра организовано обучающее мероприятие по теме «Противодействие коррупции в субъектах квазигосударственного сектора» для работников Корпоративного центра и дочерних и зависимых организаций.

Урегулирование конфликта интересов

В целях создания эффективной системы управления конфликтами интересов, а также определения требований к поведению работников, соблюдение которых позволяет минимизировать риски принятия решений под влиянием личных интересов и связей в Компании, проводится ряд мероприятий.

В 2018 году Советом директоров Компании была утверждена Политика по урегулированию корпоративных конфликтов и конфликта интересов в АО «Самрук-Энерго» в новой редакции. Работники занимающие руководящие должности, обязаны подавать пример законопослушного и этичного поведения и активно поддерживать исполнения Политики. При приеме на работу все работники знакомятся с данным документом, заполняют и подписывают кадровую анкету. В 2019 году Советом директоров в Политику были внесены изменения – дополнены про- цедурой декларирования конфликта интересов, согласно которому руководящие работники и работники от начальника отдела и выше ежегодно заполняют анкету о конфликте интересов. Предварительно в целях исключения коррупционных рисков и конфликта интересов в процессе отбора кандидаты на вакантные должности в Обществе и руководящие должности в дочерних и зависимых организациях (согласно перечню должностей) проверяются на соотвествие квалификационным требованиям и аффилированность с должностными лицами группы компаний АО «Самрук-Қазына».

Службой «Комплаенс» осуществляется постоянный мониторинг по ситуациям на предмет наличия конфликта интересов, за 2019 год урегулирован 1 потенциальный конфликт интересов.

Противодействие коррупции

В 2019 году 100 % работников АО «Самрук-Энерго» были ознакомлены с Политикой по противодействию мошенничеству и коррупции. На основании результатов тестирования на знание Политики, установлен 100 % охват знаний в этой области сотрудниками группы комапний АО «Самрук-Энерго.

Количество работников с разбивкой по регионам и категориям работников, которые были проинформированы и прошли обучение политике и методам противодействия коррупции

На ежегодной основе проводятся проверки на знание требований антикоррупционного законодательства и внутренних документов среди работников Общества. В 2019 году Службой «Комплаенс» Компании проведено 6 служебных расследований и 10 комплаенс-проверок по фактам обращений на «горячую линию» и выявленных нарушений в дочерних и зависимых организаций требований внутренних нормативных документов и законодательства. По итогам проверок и расследований в дочерних и зависимых организациях были приняты меры по минимизации рисков, также привлечение руководителей и ответственных работников к дисциплинарной ответственности. По итогам 2019 года по группе компаний зафиксирован 1 случай коррупционного правонарушения в действиях руководителя дочерней организации, результаты служебно- го расследования направлены в уполномоченный орган.

В целях исключения коррупционных рисков, прозрачности процесса и соблюдения принципов меритократии Служба «Комплаенс» принимает активное участие в конкурсных комиссиях, проводимых Компанией, также при согласовании руководящих работников дочерних и зависимых организаций. В течение 2019 года Служба «Комплаенс» осуществляла постоянный мониторинг изменений в законодательстве в области противодействия коррупции, в целях своевременного реагирования и соблюдения требований. В целях профилактики коррупции в Компании внедрен План мероприятий по противодействию коррупции в АО «Самрук-Энерго». По итогу 2019 года все запланированные мероприятия выполнены в установленные сроки и в полном объеме.